Sept 2015 New Member Spotlight

Lucia Tam

Photo 8

Occupation: Program Director at BounceLimit

Industry: Fitness

Member since: July 2015

Why did you join AmCham Hong Kong?

I joined AmCham so I can meet new people and spread the news about rebounding and how it can be beneficial to health and fitness.

There are so many people that don’t know how to take care of their body and run themselves down with stress, work and everyday life. It’s stressful in Hong Kong and I think most of it comes from people bringing onto themselves without knowing it.

How is business so far?

Business is great, but of course being the first year, it’s still tough. Ups and downs, errors and decisions but all in all it’s coming along very well and it’s growing.

What are some of the challenges in being Asia’s first trampoline fitness studio?

One challenge is getting the word out about how beneficial rebounding is. NASA has claimed it to be the best exercise for mankind. It’s a new concept in Asia and with something being “new” there are people that are skeptical. We genuinely believe that our method and system have a very positive effect on one’s body.

Why did you choose to open the studio in Hong Kong?

I chose Hong Kong because people here are getting more and more into fitness. When I came seven years ago, there wasn’t that many. My parents never really enjoyed exercising and don’t know how to. I want to really start educating people on the right way to prevent aches and pains and not have to live with it.

What are usually people’s first reactions when they hear about exercising on a mini-trampoline?

That is fun and its looks easy. It is fun but it’s not easy. It challenges your body.

Besides exercising, what do you usually do for fun?

I like to read, stay home, sleep and play with my four dogs.

What are you currently reading?

I just finished re-reading The Joy Luck Club and now I’m reading The Brain and Autism.

What’s your favorite thing about Hong Kong?

The convenience.

What’s the best advice you’ve ever received?

I have received much advice, some I listen to and some I learn from experience. The most recent one that helped me with my business is learning ways to communicate better and to listen. I sometimes catch myself caught up in the whole pace of Hong Kong, and I fail to listen properly.

Leave a Reply

